A Smidge of Sugar Logo Draft

 

A logo has significant impact on the perception of a brand. In coming up with a name for this blog I wanted to ensure that I had a clear idea as to what was in store for the logo.

The name “a smidge of sugar” comes from not only a play on my last name, but also the memory of my friends teasing me for the level of sweetness all my treats indulged their consumers in. From this name, the idea of a hand sprinkling sugar was created.

I began this project by looking at images which resembled the hand I intended to draw. I then sketched a rough draft of the logo I wanted to create. From that sketch I was able to upload the image into illustrator and use the transform tool to flip the hand facing the opposite direction. Using the pen tool, I traced my image in illustrator to get a rough outline.

After drawing an outline I was able to go in and add the details i wanted specifically for this hand, in addition to making adjustments to better shape the hand. To make sure that the hand became an adjustable (scale-able) image, I selected the “group” button to merge all the lines which composed the hand.

I wanted to make sure that the hand was encased in a circle. A circular shape is not only simple but also pleasing to the eye, in that it contains and rounds out the image, drawing the eye into the object in the middle, which in this case is a hand.

So, I then created two circles: one white to place the hand in, and one black, to create an outline for the logo. Using the “arrange” button I selected to order these circles so that the hand image was onto and visible. To finish off my logo, I added text, containing the name of the website: “a smidge of sugar”.a smidge of sugar logo

4 thoughts on “A Smidge of Sugar Logo Draft

  1. I really like the clear concept of your logo. I can look at it once and immediately understand what it’s about. The hand outline is nicely done.

    I think the logo could benefit from the use of color. Have you considered a colored background? Generally light pink or something in the pastel family is associated with baked goods and sweets. The circle could be a color, or the white area inside the circle, or they could each be a color. Right now, it is crisp and clear, but it might be more visually interesting if it had more color beyond black and white.

    Your design reflects a nice visual unity. I like the balance here, and I don’t want to throw that off, but I also really liked the way you used the text and circles in your hand-sketched draft of the logo. Perhaps you’ve already exhausted the possibilities of that iteration, and it doesn’t work for you. But there may be an opportunity there for the text to be something visually interesting while keeping the overall design balanced.

    One nitpicky thing that kind of jumps out for me is the outline of the thumbnail. Your hand outline is generally pretty clean, but the thumbnail looks a little rough, and could use some smoothing.

    This is good work and a good concept. I think you pretty much have what you want here, but some tinkering in the details of color and text could yield some enhancement to the overall look of the logo.

    Like

  2. After much anticipation for the feedback I waited to receive on my log I received a single comment on my logo draft. Reviewing this comment I realized one thing I had forgotten to incorporate into my logo: color! For my final draft I plan to make a change to add a pop of color to the white background behind the hand, possibly royal blue for a unique, non-typical look of elegance. One thing that was not commented on which I had hoped to receive feedback about was the size of the sugar crystals falling from the hand. I feel strongly that they do not appear realistic the way I had intended, but I don’t quite know what adjustment to make to them in order to make them appear more realistic. I think that I would like to find a way to make these crystals appear sparkling. In addition I am toying with the idea of making the font a looping cursive to play on the feminine feeling of this blog.

    Like

  3. I love this theme! It thoroughly captures the theme of the blog. I can only offer one suggesting and that would be to add dimension and color. When I think of sugar, I think of shiny, sparkly, and glittery. Perhaps shadowing to give it the dimension I mentioned, and choosing a color that seems to reflect the light which would lend to the shiny aspect. Aside from those two things, I think it fits the subject matter perfectly! Well done!

    Like

  4. Good afternoon, I was very impressed with your blog it looks very presentable. When I first opened your blog the soft colors really stood out to me and I understood that your brand was about sweets. I like the ideas behind your logo, I think that finding a way to represent our topics through logos is very important. At first glance, I would like to suggest two ideas for your logo, and I would like to point out a specific area in your design that is already very strong. The hand that was placed in the center of your logo sprinkling the sugar is very unique, I think that you should keep the hand as your focal point. Although I really enjoy the outer circle that ties the logo together I would suggest making it thinner because when you first look at it the hand doesn’t really stand out as much as the black around it, and you would want the hand and the sugar to stand out. I would also suggest adding some color considering you already have such a nice color scheme going the logo looks plain black and white and I think it would stand out more if you added some color, maybe making your circle a fuchsia color. Overall I like the idea you have behind your logo, I look forward to seeing the end product.

    Like

Leave a comment